Nita Strauss Announces New Solo Album, ‘The Call Of The Void’

May 17, 2023

Alice Cooper guitarist Nita Strauss is releasing her second solo album, “The Call Of The Void”, on July 7! The album’s latest single, “The Golden Trail”, features In Flames singer Anders Fridén.

Strauss talks about collaborating with Fridén, “When I was first learning how to play guitar, In Flames were my Beatles, my first favorite band. Anders’s iconic vocal style is burned into my mind! To write a song like this and have him sing on it, as a kid who grew up with In Flames posters on my walls, is an absolute dream come true.”

Strauss on the album’s title, “Have you ever been at the top of a high building and had the fleeting thought, ‘… I could jump right now?’ This feeling is sometimes called ‘The Call Of The Void,’ also known as ‘high place phenomenon.’ It’s not a suicidal impulse, rather the exact opposite — a subconscious decision to live your life, to step back from the ledge, and take control. As researcher April Smith aptly put it: ‘An urge to jump affirms the urge to live.’

“I wanted the follow-up to ‘Controlled Chaos’ to be exciting, new, and fresh, to take listeners to a new place and take myself somewhere new as an artist too. We have some amazing collaborations on this album with incredible musicians, as well as the instrumental guitar music that first inspired me to play.”

Strass has also released a song called “Dead Inside”, featuring Disturbed’s singer David Draiman, which became the first-ever solo female artist #1 song at Active Rock radio!

As you know, Strauss spent eight years playing with Alice Cooper before joining Demi Lovato‘s band last summer. She made her live debut with Lovato in July 2022 on “Jimmy Kimmel Live!”.

“The Call Of The Void” track listing

01. Summer Storm
02. The Wolf You Feed (feat. Alissa White-Gluz)
03. Digital Bullets (feat. Chris Motionless)
04. Through The Noise (feat. Lzzy Hale)
05. Consume The Fire
06. Dead Inside (feat. David Draiman)
07. Victorious (feat. Dorothy)
08. Scorched
09. Momentum
10. The Golden Trail (feat. Anders Fridén)
11. Winner Takes All (feat. Alice Cooper)
12. Monster (feat. Lilith Czar)
13. Kintsugi
14. Surfacing (feat. Marty Friedman)

Holy crazy guest appearances!! Can’t wait to sink my teeth into this album!


Written by Todd Hancock