Ministry Shares New Song From Upcoming ‘Hopiumforthemasses’ Album

November 3, 2023

Over the years, we’ve kinda come to expect songs about corporate greed and slimy politicians from Ministry. Singer Al Jourgensen has a way with the pen and it continues with their latest song, “Just Stop Oil” (on the band’s upcoming 16th studio album, “Hopiumforthemasses”). Watch the trippy music video below.

Jourgensen says, “MINISTRY approves this message and the movement behind it. ENOUGH is ENOUGH!”

“Just Stop Oil” is the second release we’ve heard from “Hopiumforthemasses” (out March 1, 2024 on Nuclear Blast Records).

Jourgensen adds, “Just like you or anybody else, I’m simply a passenger in this lifetime. I’m watching social changes, political changes, and economic changes, and I comment on them because I do have a First Amendment right. A lot of people say artists and athletes should shut up and play ball. No, I’m on this trip too. If I see something, I say something. That reflects on where each album goes. Instead of staying sedentary and singing about broken relationships, inner turmoil, or whatever is hurting this week, I comment on what’s going on from the perspective of a fellow passenger.”

“Hopiumforthemasses” track listing:

01. B.D.E.
02. Goddamn White Trash***
03. Just Stop Oil
04. Aryan Embarrassment**
05. TV Song 1/6 Edition
06. New Religion
07. It’s Not Pretty
08. Cult of Suffering*
09. Ricky’s Hand

* Featuring Eugene Hütz (GOGOL BORDELLO)
** Featuring Jello Biafra
***Featuring Pepper Keenan

“Hopiumforthemasses” will be available in three vinyl variants, a CD jewelcase and digital/streaming platforms.

Name a more underrated band than Ministry. I’ll be waiting.


Written by Todd Hancock