Iggy Pop Rarities ‘Rare Trax’ Available Now!

September 13, 2023

Iggy Pop has always been a taste-maker. This goes without saying. He has constantly morphed and evolved over his 50-year career; from explosive punk with The Stooges on through his super innovative solo career.

Now, Iggy Pop is releasing a new collection of music called “Rare Trax”!

You’ll can buy the collection at Cleopatra Records, and settle in. “Rare Trax” starts with outtakes from two of Iggy Pop’s albums – 1977’s “The Idiot” and 1981’s “Party”. Then there’s a rough take on Jimi Hendrix’s psych classic “Purple Haze” with Sex Pistols’ Steve Jones. There’s some songs produced by The Cars’ Ric Ocasek. There’s a new mix of “Lust For Life”, “The Passenger” and “I Wanna Be Your Dog”.

Classic stuff. How fun is this collection?!

“Rare Trax” is available on all formats — digital, CD and a two-LP vinyl set.

‘Rare Trax’ Track listing:

01. China Girl (The Idiot Alternate Mix)
02. Dum Dum Boys (The Idiot Alternate Mix)
03. Baby (The Idiot Alternate Mix)
04. Tiny Girls (The Idiot Alternate Mix)
05. It’s My Life (Party Outtake)
06. Bang Bang (Party Alternate Mix)
07. Sea of Love (Party Alternate Mix)
08. Time Won’t Let Me (Party Alternate Mix)
09. Lust For Life (Live Mix)
10. The Passenger (Live Mix)
11. Beside You (Steve Jones Demo)
12. Cry for Love (Steve Jones Demo)
13. Purple Haze (Steve Jones Demo)
14. Warm Feeling (Steve Jones Demo)
15. Family Affair
16. Fire Engine (Ministry Mix)
17. Warrior Tribe
18. I Wanna Be Your Dog (The Brains Mix)

Iggy’s latest album, “Every Loser” (his 19th album), was released this past January and was the first released via the partnership between Atlantic Records and Gold Tooth Records, the new label founded by the album’s Grammy Award-winning, multi-platinum executive producer Andrew Watt.

Which other bands do you wish would release a rarities album?


Written by Todd Hancock