The Roots Deluxe Reissue of ‘Do You Want More?!!!??!’

February 8, 2021

If you don’t know The Roots, get your shit together and check this out. They’re about to reissue their second album, ‘Do You Want More?!!!??!’ and you need to get onboard.

The original album came out in 1995. And this deluxe re-issue will put on all the stuff you want to hear; lots of unreleased stuff, remixes, and alternate versions of songs (damn, that’s pretty cool), including the above “Street Mix” version of ‘Silent Treatment’.

This is a nice throwback to the mid-90s with an iconic band. And getting to hear some unreleased music and alternate versions? Sign. Me. Up.

The Roots rule.

Word is there’s FIVE remixes of ‘Silent Treatment’ (with a couple done by the band’s own Questlove and Black Thought).

The reissue deluxe edition of ‘Do You Want More?!!!??!’ will be released on March 12th and you’ll be able to pick it up digitally and in three-LP and four-LP formats. All versions include a 24-page booklet about the original record.

‘Do You Want More?!!!??!’ deluxe reissue tracklist:

Side A
01. ‘Intro / There’s Something Goin’ On’
02. ‘Proceed’
03. ‘Distortion To Static’
04. ‘Mellow My Man’
05. ‘I Remain Calm’

Side B
01. ‘Datskat’
02. ‘Lazy Afternoon’
03. ‘? vs. Rahzel’
04. ‘Do You Want More?!!!??!’

Side C
01. ‘What Goes On Pt. 7’
02. ‘Essaywhuman?!!!??!’
03. ‘Swept Away’
04. ‘You Ain’t Fly’

Side D
01. ‘Silent Treatment’
02. ‘The Lesson Pt. 1’
03. ‘The Unlocking’

Bonus Tracks

Side E
01. ‘Proceed II’ Feat. Roy Ayers
02. ‘Proceed III’ *
03. ‘Proceed IV (AJ Shine Mix)’ *
04. ‘Proceed V (Beatminerz Mix)’ *
05. ‘Silent Treatment (Kelo’s Remix)’ *

Side F
01. ‘Silent Treatment (Beatminerz Remix)’ *
02. ‘Silent Treatment (Black Thought’s 87 You And Yours Mix)’ *
03. ‘Silent Treatment (Question’s Mix)’ *
04. ‘Silent Treatment (Street Mix)’ *

Side G
01. ‘In Your Dreams Kid (I’m Every MC)’ – unreleased
02. ‘The Ultimate (Original ’94 Version)’ – unreleased
03.  ‘……(dot dot dot…on & on)’ – unreleased
04. ‘Pffat Time’ – *

Side H
01. ‘Swept Away (Original Draft)’ – unreleased
02. ‘It’s Coming’
03. ‘Lazy Afternoon (Alternate Version)’ – unreleased
04. ‘Distortion To Static (Freestyle Mix)’ [Clean] *
05. ‘Distortion To Static (Quest Jim Mix)’ [Clean] *

* available digitally for the first time

If you didn’t know, The Roots are the house band for The Tonight Show. They’re the best ‘talk show’ band, right? SNL’s band is pretty bad ass too… but The Roots?! That shit is absolutely crazy.



Written by Todd Hancock

Website news is powered by Daily Hive Vancouver. Your City. Now. Your home base for everything Vancouver.