PJ Harvey announces new album, releases single, ‘A Child’s Question, August’

April 27, 2023

PJ Harvey recently announced her upcoming 10th album, ‘I Inside The Old Year Dying’ and released the lead single, ‘A Child’s Question, August’!

This new album is the follow-up to 2016’s ‘The Hope Six Demolition Project’.

Harvey says it was written in just three weeks, going back to song ideas from 2017, when she felt she’d lost her connection with music.

You’ll be able to buy ‘I Inside The Old Year Dying’ as of July 7. You can pre-order here.

Harvey says, “I think the album is about searching, looking – the intensity of first love, and seeking meaning. Not that there has to be a message, but the feeling I get from the record is one of love – it’s tinged with sadness and loss, but it’s loving. I think that’s what makes it feel so welcoming: so open.”

‘I Inside the Old Year Dying’ tracklist:

1. ‘Prayer at the Gate’
2. ‘Autumn Term’
3. ‘Lwonesome Tonight’
4. ‘Seem an I’
5. ‘The Nether-edge’
6. ‘I Inside the Old Year Dying’
7. ‘All Souls’
8. ‘A Child’s Question, August’
9. ‘I Inside the Old I Dying’
10. ‘August’
11. ‘A Child’s Question, July’
12. ‘A Noiseless Noise’

We’ve been getting teased about this new album since February ’22 when PJ posted some pictures in studio.

Not long now!


Written by Todd Hancock