Iggy Pop To Release A New Album This Year!

July 22, 2019

Iggy Pop is set to release a new album called “Free” (his first since 2016’s Post Pop Depression)! It’s his 18th solo album and is expected to be released September 6.

Iggy released a statement about the music, saying it was somewhat of a departure:

By the end of the tours following Post Pop Depression, I felt sure that I had rid myself of the problem of chronic insecurity that had dogged my life and career for too long.

But I also felt drained. And I felt like I wanted to put on shades, turn my back, and walk away. I wanted to be free. I know that’s an illusion, and that freedom is only something you feel, but I have lived my life thus far in the belief that that feeling is all that is worth pursuing; all that you need—not happiness or love necessarily, but the feeling of being free.

So this album just kind of happened to me, and I let it happen.

Despite not hearing a new album in three years, you’ve heard Iggy Pop songs in that time; a collaboration EP with Underworld, an original song on the Safdie Brothers’ 2017 album Good Time. Iggy made a cameo appearance in the zombie movie “The Dead Don’t Die” and did “Silent Night” on William Shatner’s Christmas album. He’s been busy, just in other ways.

01. “Free”
02. “Loves Missing”
03. “Sonali”
04. “James Bond”
05. “Dirty Sanchez”
06. “Glow In The Dark”
07. “Page”
08. “We Are The People”
09. “Do Not Go Gentle Into That Good Night”
10. “The Dawn”

Are you excited for a new Iggy Pop album?


Written by Todd Hancock

* The PNE powers website news!