Ex-FFDP Guitarist Jason Hook’s Flat Black Debut Album Details

June 18, 2024

Do you know about Flat Black yet? I have their debut album in-advance of release, and believe me, you’ll want this band in your life!

Heavy, melodic, riff rock. 

It’s a band formed by ex-Five Finger Death Punch guitarist Jason Hook (who we’re just coordinating with to get him back on the Toddcast Podcast). And he’s managed to find another outstanding singer, bassist, and drummer. The band’s debut album, “Dark Side Of The Brain”, is out on July 19 and was produced by Hook and Chris Collier (KORN), and recorded at both Hook’s home studio and The Hideout Recording Studio in Vegas. Watch the official video for their latest single, “Sideways”, below!

Hook on ‘Sideways’, “It’s a song about losing your temper. Whenever I felt my darker side gaining control in any given situation, I would say, ‘I’m about to go sideways.’ In those moments, it is key to let those feelings pass through you and refocus on moving forward.”

Adding he’s excited to get the music out to fans, “Well, we’re finally here. No more people hounding me about when the album will be available. I’m so excited to share these songs with the public. ‘Dark Side Of The Brain’ is personal; every lyric came from a real place.”

Hook also designed the album’s artwork!

“Dark Side Of The Brain” track listing:

01. It’s OK To Be Angry
02. Justice Will Be Done
03. Sideways
04. A Bit Of Lightning
05. Unwanted
06. Home
07. Halo
08. It’s Your Lack Of Respect
09. Nothing To Some (feat. Corey Taylor)
10. Dark Side Of The Brain
11. Villain
12. Youth N Eyes
13. Tidal Wave
14. Let It Go


Wes Horton – Vocals
Jason Hook – Guitar
Rob Pierce – Drums
Nicholas Diltz – Bass

Did you see the Corey Taylor appearance? Check out what Jason told Ronni Hunter of the 99.7 The Blitz radio station, “I developed a friendship with Corey in 2020. He hit me up, actually. I was working in Los Angeles with his producer, and I think the producer said, ‘I’ve got Jason Hook here. We’re working on some material.’ He said, ‘Oh, give me his number.’ And so all of a sudden we’re texting back and forth. And we hit it off right away. He’s just a fucking fantastic guy. Maybe he doesn’t want anyone to know that, but he’s actually a sweetheart. (Laughs) He’s a really sweet dude. And he was, like, ‘Look, if you’re trying to build something and you don’t have anyone to work with, I’ll write with you. So it was just perfect for the time and the emotions I was going through at the time. He really helped bolster my spirit, like, ‘Yes, let’s do something.’ And we ended up doing five songs together. Four will probably never get heard, but we used ‘Nothing To Some’ on the record.”

In another interview, this time with Rock 100.5 The KATT, Jason talked about how the band came together, “Well, I was pretty hell-bent on starting a new band. Music’s in my blood. It’s a part of my DNA, and I just knew that… I didn’t really care how long it took. It just had to be potent. And so, one (musician) at a time… I found Rob first, and he’s awesome. And then, of course, Nick; he’s from Los Angeles. All my guys are just stellar players. And I wanted to have a good pack of songs. And so here we are.”

Flat Black’s live debut was August 24, 2023 at the FivePoint Amphitheatre in Irvine, California, opening for Godsmack.

Hook used the pandemic shutdown to assemble the right musicians for the band, with extra time to really dial in their debut album. And you’ll hear that when it gets released next month. Big stadium hooks. Arena anthems. This band is coming out swinging!


Written by Todd Hancock