David Ellefson To Release New Covers Album With Tons Of Guest Appearances!

July 13, 2020

ELLEFSON, the eponymous solo band of Grammy-Winning Megadeth bassist/co-founder David Ellefson, is set to release NO COVER, an LP featuring 13+ cover songs on October 2!

The album includes cover songs from Motorhead, WASP, Def Leppard, Cheap Trick, Queen, Judas Priest, Twisted Sister, Fastway, Fight, Dead Kennedys and more!

ELLEFSON features David Ellefson on bass, with vocalist Thom Hazaert, guitarists Andy Martongelliand Ron “Bumblefoot” Thal (Sons of Apollo, Yes, Ex-Guns N’ Roses) and drummer Paolo Caridi. They are joined by guests Charlie Benante (Anthrax), Eddie Ojeda (Twisted Sister), Brandon Yeagley (Crobot), Dirk Verbeuren (Megadeth), Frank Hannon and Troy Lucketta (Tesla), Mark Slaughter, Jason McMaster (Dangerous Toys, ex-Watchtower, Evil United), Greg Handevidt (Kublai Khan, Ex-Megadeth), Chuck Behler (Ex-Megadeth), Gus G, John Aquilino (Icon), Doro Pesch, Dave McClain (Sacred Reich, Ex-Machine Head), Dave Alvin (White Trash), Todd Kerns (Slash & The Conspirators), Andy Freeman (Last In Line), Jacob Bunton (Mick Mars).

You can pre-order now!

Ellefson said, “Before any of us started writing our own songs, we all began playing cover songs by our heroes during our formative years as musicians. So, it’s fun to go back in time and revisit those songs which helped us to become the artists we are today, especially when, ironically, many of those artists have now become peers and friends. During the process of recording some covers for B-Sides and bonus tracks for the upcoming ELLEFSON solo LP, Thom and I just said, “This is a blast, let’s just do a whole album of covers!” Literally, within 2 weeks, we had the songs recorded, and began calling our friends to join us, many of whom we had just performed with on the MEGA-Cruise back in October. From there, the album just fell into place.”

ELLEFSON is expected to release their debut full length studio LP in Spring 2021!


Written by Todd Hancock