March 12, 2015

Muse has set June 9th as the release date for their seventh studio album, Drones.


They’re releasing a song called “Psycho” at the band’s YouTube page on Thursday (March 12th) at 2:00 p.m. ET. Pre-orders of the album will begin 90 minutes later, with anyone who places an order getting a free download of the new song.

Muse is still in the process of mixing the album.

The first official single, “Dead Inside,” will arrive on March 23rd.

Frontman Matt Bellamy hinted in a statement that the album might be conceptual in nature, saying, “To me, ‘Drones’ are metaphorical psychopaths which enable psychopathic behavior with no recourse. The world is run by Drones utilizing Drones to turn us all into Drones. Drones explores the journey of a human, from their abandonment and loss of hope, to their indoctrination by the system to be a human drone, to their eventual defection from their oppressors.”

Muse will launch a six-date tour of the U.K. later this month as well, all at small venues. There is no word yet on North American tour plans.

The track list for Drones is:

1. “Dead Inside”
2. “[Drill Sergeant]”
4. “Mercy”
5. “Reapers”
6. “The Handler”
7. “[JFK]”
8. “Defector”
9. “Revolt”
10. “Aftermath”
11. “The Globalist”
12. “Drones”