February 20, 2015

Yesterday (February 19th), Jimmy Page previewed the new Led Zeppelin Physical Graffiti reissue at London’s famed Olympic Studios — home to legendary sessions by Zeppelin, the Beatles, theRolling Stones, the Who, and countless other acts.


As part of a Q&A session with Yahoo Live, Page — who produced all the original Zeppelin albums, and personally overhauled the band’s catalogue — shed light on the assorted tracks.

Page was able to explain his pre-production creative process for working on tracks for what became Led Zeppelin’s only double studio album: “I had the luxury of having a home studio, a multi-track studio at home. And we had a little bit of time off; so we weren’t doing concerts, concerts, concerts — a bit of time off, so I was able to get in there and just really enjoy myself. Trying textures and overlays and various ideas. And one of the things that I had pre-getting to gather (with the band) at Headley (Grange) was the whole structure of ‘Ten Years Years Gone’ with all the. . . ‘cause I wanted to get all the orchestrated guitar parts together, so that I didn’t waste time when I was there. ‘Cause I could hear ‘em in my head and I just wanted to sort of lay ‘em down so it would be much easier to sort of present it to the rest of the band as a piece ‘cause it was gonna be quite long.”

1975’s Physical Graffiti features such Zeppelin classics as “Kashmir,” “Trampled Under Foot,” “Houses Of The Holy,” “In My Time Of Dying,” “Down By The Seaside,” “Boogie With Stu,” and “The Wonton Song,” among others.

The bonus tracks to featured on Led Zeppelin’s Physical Graffiti – Deluxe Edition are:

“Brandy & Coke” (“Trampled Under Foot” – Initial Rough Mix)
“Sick Again” (Early Version)
“In My Time of Dying” (Initial Rough Mix)
“Houses Of Then Holy” (Rough Mix With Overdubs)
“Everybody Makes It Through” (“In The Light” – Early Version/In Transit)
“Boogie With Stu” (Sunset Sound Mix)
“Driving Through Kashmir” (“Kashmir” – Rough Orchestra Mix)