December 16, 2014

Soundgarden singer Chris Cornell will join Pearl Jam guitarist Mike McCready, Guns N’ Roses bassist Duff McKagan, drummer Barrett Martin and the Seattle Symphony next month for a special concert titled “Sonic Evolution.”


Cornell and the band will perform three Mad Season songs as well as the debut of an original symphonic work by McCready titled “Waking The Horizon.”

Original Mad Season members McCready and Martin will be joined by Cornell and McKagan for three songs — “River Of Deceit,” “I Don’t Know Anything” and “Long Gone Day.” The original Mad Season lineup featured late musicians Layne Staley on vocals and John Baker Saunders on bass.

Mad Season’s sole album, 1995’s Above, was reissued last year and McCready said not long ago that revisiting it was bittersweet:

“That was a record I couldn’t listen to for a really long time, just because of Layne and Baker both dying, and the darkness that had kind of followed that record. I’m very proud of it, and a lot of fans have come up to me and said that it’s their favorite record and it’s made a difference in their lives, so that made me kind of happy to know that it did that.”

This will be the Seattle Symphony’s fourth annual “Sonic Evolution” concert. It will take place on January 30th at Benaroya Hall in Seattle.

  • Tickets start at $50 and may be purchased at the Seattle Symphony website, or by calling or visiting the box office.
  • The event will also feature the premieres of orchestral works inspired by Nirvana and Pearl Jam.

Featured photo: Theo Wargo/Getty; Steve Jennings/Getty